Love Welwyn GC 10k Race Report

IMG_4515Today I raced in the inaugural ATW Love Welwyn GC 10k. It was a very well organised race, two laps out and back through Welwyn and a final loop around Stanborough Lake. I was aiming for a sub-50 finish.

My training has been fairly good since Christmas, but last week I had to pull an allnighter at work, then travel away with work and topped off with two poorly children at home and interrupted nights! It was pretty chilly first thing so I wrapped up with a hat and gloves.

My plan was to run the first 3km slightly slower than target pace (say 5:10/km), then crank it up to 5:00/km until 8km with an all out effort to finish off. My plan was roughly on track until 6km when I’d clearly wrapped up too much and overheated and took on a huge stomach cramp. I tried to push through it but in the end I had to stop and walk, which cost me several minutes.

By the time I got going again I’d lost my rhythm but I did manage to get over the finish line 54 minutes which was an improvement of 3 minutes over my first 10k last summer. Four weeks until the Silverstone Half Marathon now!

One thought on “Love Welwyn GC 10k Race Report”

Leave a comment